New Year, New Me

I’m really sorry about the title on this one… As much as you hate it I’m right there with you, but I actually feel like changing a few things about me would be for the better and there’s no better time to do that than with a New Year, surely. I’ve actually gone for four fairly unambitious goals, because if you’re statistically not that likely to complete one resolution, might as well do more right?

The idea with this is that not only is helping me towards one of them right from the get go, but by sharing targets and the like on here, I’ll have much more of a reason to see them through? Beware, there’s a lot of “me’s” and “I’s” on this one.

 

Blog More
Target: 1 post per week
As bad as it is, my blogging has gotten so sporadic as of recently. So here I am posting to it again, because despite having an abundance of ideas to write about, none of them ever grab me enough to push 500 hand-picked words of my brain through the keyboard. I need to be less picky with what I write, and get more of my ideas out there.
FullSizeRender 3

 

Read More
Target: 1 book per month
I have a wealth of unread books that I need to do something about, and supposedly elevate my intelligence with. It’s not like I haven’t been reading at all, I have three magazine subscriptions on the go for the rest of the year which will keep me occupied. It was when my girlfriend bought me Nick Offerman’s Paddle Your Own Canoe (a book I really need to finish) that I thought of all the others I started and never finished, because of my third year at university. Orwell’s 1984 for example.
BfEzJDXCMAA34-h

 

Get Healthier
Target: Exercise 3 times a week
Anyone who’s met me knows that I’m blessed (to some) with the gift of eating and never putting any weight on. If anything, I want to be gaining weight. Which means over the years, I’ve really not given two shits about what I end up eating. I’m not eating takeaways and McDonald’s every night or anything, but I know I could do that much better. Also, running. I have an awesome pair of Nike Air’s I bought a while back that never get used and I definitely need to do something about it.
What did I just do to myself. #run #healthy #fit #fresh #start #nike #motivated

 

Get A Job
Target: Get a job
The serious kicker. The last few months have included a handful of work placements (twice at FHM and once at Today’s Golfer) with nothing since. Being unemployed is terminally depressing, and being paid to do something I like is really the jump start that I need to get on with my life. As ambiguous and ill-guided as ‘get a job’ is, I know I need to be that much less picky (a common theme that I didn’t realise comes so hand in hand with my attention to detail…) with where I apply to – it’s pretty unlikely that I’m gonna land at my dream job for the first time round, so I need to just get my foot in the door.
Well this is pretty cool. Got a copy of @fhmagram through the post and I've made it into a proper grown up magazine. Onwards from here...

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Me”

  1. Top blog post mate – despite your choice of title! Stealing all of your goals for myself and adding ‘get a flat’ on there as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

