Review: Pocket


Pocket is a new application that makes saving content between devices as easy as possible. I say new, but the app was formerly Read It Later, which did exactly the same, but was paid content. Pocket is free.

The big appeal for products like this is that the majority of the time, they are used in the background. For the past week, I have been saving articles that appear on my Twitter whilst I’m in lectures, at home and working or otherwise when I just don’t have time to read them. I’ll usually then read them when I’m on the bus home or have some free time.

The app works by integrating an ‘Add to Pocket’ option to the  share menu of your phone, tablet or a button in the web browser of your computer. Once clicked, it saves the information of the link in any tweet, webpage, YouTube video, photo, document – anything. And best of all, it downloads it to your devices, so you can read it offline, anytime.

The biggest benefit of the service is that all of the saved material is available in one place, across as many devices as you have. It saves the pieces as a list when you open the app, so that you can easily see what you have saved to read later. It even organises content by the type of media saved, be it articles, photos or videos.

You can read it as many times as you want, and it will only be removed when you mark as read or delete it entirely. Even then, you can access read content from a drop-down menu at the top left of the app, as well as marked favourites.

I have tended to use the app as a reminder service, usually when I see something interesting but don’t have the time to read it all, i’ll save it there and clear out my Pocket list when I have some spare time. Often, I have internet wherever I am, but sometimes I know I won’t, so I’ll also save content for me to read later.

The only downside to the service is that at the time writing there is no desktop or indeed official web app for you to read your Pocketed material. You can save with various browser extensions, but phones and tablets are your go-to for reading from Pocket apps.

I have been very impressed with Pocket. The little app that works when you need it too, I have found it extremely useful on numerous occasions just this week. It comes into it’s own when you have saved some content for a quieter time, and helps you keep organised and in control of content that you enjoy.

If you want to try Pocket (it is free after all) then the links are here for iPhone and for Android.

 

Leave a Reply

