Something Old, Something New, Something I Can’t Stop Listening To

This is a feature I hope to continue each week, depending on the kind of feedback I receive on it. Let me know what you think!

The format is this: I pick three pieces of music, that reflect on what I’ve been listening to across the week. One of which is old, one that’s new, and something I’ve keep playing over and over. That’s it.


Something Old:
Under the Bridge – Red Hot Chili Peppers

Inspired by the recent ’90’s Night’ at The Stannary, this has to be one of the best songs written in the decade before last, with not many people who don’t know the words. You don’t have to be ‘in to’ any genre of music to appreciate, it’s simple but soulful music, that’s easy to listen to, no matter what the mood.


Something New:
Call It What You Want – Foster the People

Now I’d heard this about a few times before, but never found the name out until this week. That still makes it new! From the lyrically catchy creators of ‘Pumped Up Kicks’, this band are quickly becoming one of my favourite bands. I’m yet to listen to the whole album but I’m sure it will be enjoyable from what I’ve already been hearing from them.


Something I Can’t Stop Listening To:
Shuffle – Bombay Bicycle Club

Ignited from the realisation that I could be seeing them in April, this track has literally been on repeat for me this week. The quirky style of indie music you expect from the band is here, backed by the insanely catchy piano melody that forms the base of the song. Not much else to say here, and if you haven’t heard of them – you should.

That’s it. Three tracks to represent my week, each week, here. Again, let me know what you think, because I feel like this (with any suggestions or input you can think of) would make this series a favourite to write for the weekend.

2 thoughts on “Something Old, Something New, Something I Can’t Stop Listening To”

  1. Great feature. The title is really catchy, well done for that. Definitely continue it week in week out. Also have to agree with your song choices, awesome stuff. Really need to book those tickets for Bombay.

    The only negative… why didn’t I think of this first!

    Like

Leave a Reply

